The Liberia House, a historic plantation house in Manassas, Virginia, dates back to the mid-nineteenth century. The two-story, five-bay Federal style dwelling is framed by a single-pile modified central passage plan and a parapet side-gable roof. It is located at 8601 Portner Ave, Manassas, VA 20110. It is open to the public and is the oldest house in the city.
The home was used by the Confederate army during the Civil War. It served as the headquarters for General P.G.T. Beauregard and his officers. However, the family was forced to evacuate when Union forces advanced. In 1862, the House fell under the control of Union troops. The property was bought by Alexandria brewer Robert Portner in 1888, and the Portner family operated it as a dairy, but they never lived in it. The property was purchased by the Breeden family in 1947, and the I.J. and Hilda Breeden family stayed in the home until their deaths.
The original home was built in 1825. The house was one of the largest slave-holding estates in Prince William County during the Civil War. The building and grounds are surrounded by a park and visitors can explore the history of the house. The museum offers guided tours of the building, which reveals the hidden stories of slavery. In addition to the Liberia House, the historic site also has an interesting exhibition featuring paintings and artifacts of the era.
The Liberia house was purchased by the city of Manassas in the 1970s. The property is now operated by the Manassas Museum System. Amtrak stops at the nearby station in Manassas. A train to the town of Manassas will serve the Northeast Regional, Crescent, and Cardinal lines. It is a short distance from the city center.
The Liberia plantation house served as the Confederate General's headquarters during the Civil War. He was visited by the Confederate President Jeerson Davis and the President of the Confederacy. After the Civil War, the Weir family moved out of the property, but Robert Portner bought the property and built a dairy there. The Weirs stayed in the house until 1947. The breeden family also lived in the house.
The Liberia house was built in 1816. It was used as a military headquarters during the Civil War. It is now run by the Manassas Museum System. It is located on the Orange and Alexandria and Manassas Gap Railroad. There are also many other train stations nearby. The Amtrak station in the town ofManassas has a train station.
The Liberia house was built on the grounds of the Weir plantation in 1825. The Weirs owned a total of 1,660 acres and employed 90 slaves. The Weirs also had livestock, including pigs, cattle, and sheep. The Liberia plantation was an important agricultural location in western Prince William County. The historic site is a great destination for tourists.
Marines Plumbing Services